• Home
  • Activities
  • Action Group
  • Debate Club

Debate Club

St. Xavier's Collegiate School Debate Club Activity 2012-2013

a) After a gap of 13 years, St. Xavier's Collegiate School Debate Club organized an inter-school debate competition 'CICERO' for class 11 - 12 at St. Xavier's Collegiate School on 8th August 2012. Twelve schools including St. Xavier's Collegiate School participated. La Martiniere for Boys School was adjudged the best team. The Best Speaker and runner up speaker awards also went to La Martiniere for Boys School, Kolkata.

b) Shourya Dasgupta of Class 11 and a student of St. Xavier's Collegiate School won the best speaker award at the L.N. Birla Memorial Debate on 10th July 2012. He also won the best delegate award at St. James School Model United Nations event. Anshuman Mohan of Class 12 and Anish Kanoria of Class 11 won special mention at the La Martiniere School Model United Nations event in May 2012.

c) Classes 9 and 10 students of St. Xavier's Collegiate School won the runners up trophy at the Ramkrishna Mission Debate on 24th August 2012. Twelve schools participated in the event.

The 41st annual inter-school debating competition was held on 24th August 2012 at Ramkrishna Mission Ashrama, Narendrapur.
The two participants for the event were:
1. Sourajit Ghosh (9C) - For the motion
2. Tejodipta Panda (10D) - Against the motion
Topic: The motion for the debate reads: - In the Opinion of the House, "Competitive Spirit is essential to all round development."

A total of twelve schools participated in the event and St. Xavier's Collegiate School won the Runners up Trophy.